Are Goalkeepers Allowed To Bounce The Ball?

The keeper is considered to be in possession of the ball during the bounces although the 6 second timing will start from his initial possession.

It is normal practice for some goalkeepers to bounce the ball prior to the actual kick and is allowed.

Bouncing the ball is not considered releasing the ball.

Are you allowed to steal the ball from the goalkeeper?

While the ball is in the possession of the goalkeeper, it cannot be played by an opponent. However, as stated in the Advice to Referees on the Laws of the Game (Advice 12.16 and 12.17), the goalkeeper is also considered to be in possession of the ball while bouncing it on the ground or while throwing it into the air.

Why do Goalkeepers need to bounce the ball?

We allow a goalkeeper, when blocking a shot that is too hard to handle, to parry the ball, deflecting the ball down to the ground so that it bounces back up to his hands. Once the goalkeeper collects the ball after its one bounce and has it under control, the keeper must put the ball back in play promptly.

When can Goalkeeper handle ball?

No, a goalkeeper may not legally handle the ball (play the ball with hand, arm or moving parts of the shoulder) around the opposing team’s goal. A keeper who handles the ball outside his own penalty area commits a foul to be punished by a direct free kick for the opponents, from the location of the foul.

What are the rules of a goalkeeper?

Rules for Goalies:

  • Once in possession of the ball, they have 6 seconds to pass it to another player.
  • They can kick or throw the ball to a teammate.
  • Goalies can not use their hands if the ball is kicked back to them from a teammate.
  • Goalies must wear unique clothing different from the jerseys worn by the other players.